The United States expects China, India and Turkey to agree to buy Russian oil as part of price limitsaid James O’Brien, coordinator for sanctions policy at the State Department.

“We expect that China, India and Turkey, as the main buyers of Russian oil, will agree and the price will be set within the limit. What will be consistent with the agreement, even if other countries do not formally join it,” O’Brien was quoted as saying by the Prime agency.

Recall that on December 5, the European Union introduced a price limit for oil supplied from Russia – no more than $60 per barrel. On the same day, the EU embargo on the supply of Russian oil by sea came into force. The embargo does not apply to deliveries through pipelines.

From December 5 limiting the price of Russian oil was also supported by the United States, Great Britain, Australia, Canada, Japan. India, China, Turkey and a number of other countries importing Russian oil have not announced that they will join the price restriction.

Russia has repeatedly stressed that there will be no oil supplies to countries that supported price caps. A decree of the President of Russia on retaliatory measures against the actions of Western states was announced.

Author Anton Kulikov

Anton Vladimirovich Kulikov – journalist, columnist for Pravda.Ru