January 4, 2023, 18:00 – Public News Service – OSN

The Russian government approved the specifics of labor legislation and its application in the territories of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics, as well as the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions. The Decree is published on the portal of regulatory and legal information.

“The Government of the Russian Federation decides to approve the attached features of the application of the labor legislation of the Russian Federation, other regulatory legal acts containing labor law norms in the territories of the Donetsk People’s Republic, the Lugansk People’s Republic, the Zaporozhye Region and the Kherson Region,” the document says.

To regulate labor relations in the above territories, the laws that were previously in force in the territory as of September 30, 2022 will be applied to the extent that they do not contradict the Constitution of the Russian Federation and other laws, except for the cases that will be established in this document.

If, as of September 30, a special procedure for labor relations between citizens was established, then it can be applied until January 1, 2024.

Thus, when hiring citizens residing at the time of September 30, 2022 in the new territories of Russia, but not having the citizenship of the country, the regulatory features specified in Chapter 50 of the Labor Code (LC) will not apply until June 1, 2023.

Workers who were evacuated after September 30 of last year can get their jobs retained, but the employment contract will be suspended. At the time of suspension, a citizen knows the right to conclude a fixed-term employment contract. If an employee who has been evacuated does not appear at work after 6 months from the date of informing the employer about what happened, the employer may unilaterally terminate the contract.

For mobilized workers, jobs are preserved and until July 1, 2023 – wages.

The Decree comes into force from the day of its official publication and is valid until January 1, 2026.

Previously, the Council of the European Union adopted final decision on the non-recognition of Russian foreign passports, which will be issued in four new constituent entities of the Russian Federation, as well as in South Ossetia and Abkhazia.